Country Guides

The purpose of the Ethical Travel Guide is to help travellers in making better decisions about where to go, who to go with, where to stay and what to do in accordance with principles of ethical tourism. For each country below we list ethical travel considerations, local projects to support, community voices on the impacts of tourism, ethical places to stay and see and ethical tour operators and volunteering organisations that can help make your stay better for local people and better for you. The initiative intertwines two essential strands of how Tourism Concern works:

  • We seek to give a voice to communities where tourism takes place, sharing their concerns and recommendations in order to encourage more equitable and sustainable tourism.
  • We aim to help travellers to take responsibility for their impact by choosing ethical options for what to do and where to stay, and being responsible, sensitive and well-informed whilst travelling.
World Placeholder


Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh*, Bhutan*, Brunei, Burma (Myanmar)*, Cambodia, China*, East Timor*, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan*, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Korea North, Korea South, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan*, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia*, Maldives, Mongolia*, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan*, Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen

Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana*, Burkina*, Burundi, Cameroon*, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, , Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Djibouti, Egypt*, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia*, Ghana*, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho*, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar*, Malawi*Mali*, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco*, Mozambique*, Namibia*, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda*, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles*, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa*, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland*, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda*, Zambia*, Zimbabwe. 

Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea*, Fiji, Samoa, Tonga, New Caledonia, Vanuatu. 

Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas*, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica*, Dominican Republic*, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala*, Haiti*, Honduras*, Jamaica, MexicoNicaragua*, Panama*, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, United States 

Click on a country highlighted above (countries with * are still under construction.)